A Comprehensive New Test for
Today’s Complex Caseload

The Receptive, Expressive & Social Communication Assessment


Patricia Hamaguchi, MA, CCC-SLP
Deborah Ross-Swain, EdD, CCC-SLP

Developed by practicing clinicians, the RESCA assesses the functional features of language that really matter, all in one instrument.

  • Receptive Core
  • Expressive Core
  • Social Communication Core
  • Social Communication Inventory

Learn more about the new RESCA-E and place your order at:

Features of the RESCA–E

  • For ages 5 through 12
  • Core subtests designed to be administered in one hour or less
  • Tasks presented range from basic naming (vocabulary) to advanced inference skills to accommodate a wide range of abilities
  • Receptive tasks include: vocabulary, following oral directions, story and question comprehension, syntax/morphology comprehension
  • Expressive tasks include: vocabulary, describing and explaining, storytelling and narrative, syntax/morphology
  • Social Communication tasks include: interpreting body language/facial expressions, inference (slang, idioms, hidden meaning) and situational language use
  • Social Communication Inventory included in English and Spanish (other languages to be added) to find out how adults in the child’s life perceive his/her everyday social language and behaviors across environments
  • Beautiful color drawings and user-friendly administration
  • Normative data: Standard Scores, Percentiles and Age Equivalents for individual subtests and Receptive, Expressive, and Social Communication Cores

About the Test:

Based on current research and designed for today’s child, the RESCA–E was developed to provide essential information to professionals and parents about a child’s receptive, expressive and social communication language skills. It targets critical areas of language development which are often included in IEPs and Treatment Plans, but difficult or impossible to objectively measure with existing tests for the elementary age population.

The RESCA–E combines standardized tests and informal observation across settings to give a more complete picture of a child’s communication skills. It is truly the “missing assessment piece” for today’s children who present with unique challenges-from the child with very limited language skills to those who typically “test well” but are communicatively less successful in dynamic, social and academic environments.

The RESCA–E is for children ages 5 through 12-11. In order to participate in the RESCA-E, the child should be able to reliably point to a requested picture (receptive tasks) and verbalize (expressive tasks). Children who present with possible language or social-pragmatic deficits are excellent candidates for this test.

About the Authors:

Patti HamaguchiPatricia Hamaguchi, MA, CCC-SLP, a speech-language pathologist with over 30 years of experience, has worked in the public schools in NJ and CT, and is currently Director of a pediatric private practice in Cupertino, California. She has written several books including A Metacognitive Treatment Program for Children with Auditory Processing Disorder and It’s Time to Listen. Patti is also the founder of Hamaguchi Apps for Speech, Language & Auditory Development.

Dr. Deborah Ross-SwainDr. Deborah Ross-Swain, Ph.D, is the founder, owner and clinical director of The Swain Center for Listening, Communicating and Learning. Dr. Swain is president elect of the California Speech-Language and Hearing Association. She is the Past President of California Speech Pathologists and Audiologists in Private Practice (CALSPAPP) and served on the board of directors for the American Academy of Private Practice Speech Pathologists and Audiologists (AAPPSPA). She is the author of several standardized tests, including the Ross Information Processing Assessment.

About the Publisher:

ATP logo

Academic Therapy Publications (ATP) is the publisher of many assessments used by speech pathologists, school psychologists, and other professionals including the Expressive and Receptive One-Word Picture Vocabulary Tests (EOWPVT-4 and ROWPVT-4), The Test of Auditory Perceptual Skills (TAPS-3), the Auditory Processing Abilities Test (APAT), and the Test of Information Processing Skills (TIPS).